Some say that music plays an important role in society whilst others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people opine that music is vital to society. However, others disagree, contend that it is essentially a method they use to unwind. I agree with both points of view and think that people should enjoy music how they want to.

Delegates claim music is indispensable in contemporary society as it can express feelings and ideas. With its lyrics and melody, a song can convey to the listener the artist’s emotions, whether it is cheerfulness or sadness. By expressing the artist’s state of mind, a musical piece can get individuals, who share the same feelings, relate to it. Thereby it is conducive for human beings to connect with others, thus amplifying happiness or mitigating wistfulness in some cases. World Cup’s songs, for example, could make millions of people sing along with and share their enjoyment of the sport together.

Advocates who disagree with this notion argue that music is just a way to relax. A piece of music, to them, doesn’t compromise messages or feelings. And consequently, they don’t feel songs relatable to them. Moreover, some students use music to fill the silence while studying. They listen to music in the background but focus on doing other things. To illustrate, the popularity of Lofi is on the rise as many students listen to them as white noise to study.

In conclusion, some treat music as a way to connect with others and share their feelings, thus enhancing or mitigating their emotions. However, many feel it is only a method to relax or study. As a person who uses that music to relate to people but also utilizes it as an implement to fill the silence, I think each side has its valid points, so we should listen to music in a beneficial way to us.