More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Keeping abreast of happenings through the Internet is preferable to through the news programs for many people. Although there are some concerns regarding the credibility of the news, I believe that it’s overall a positive thing.

The accuracy of the news on the Internet is not trustworthy. There are myriad sensationalist news as those can gain high profile, pulling in money for the authors of such shocking news. Furthermore, in virtue of the nature of the Internet, any netizen can write an article reporting an untrue incident to undermine the reputation of someone, making cyberbullying easier as people can spread misleading accounts about the victim. For example, false scandals have blemished various celebrities' image. However, with the astronomical number of news organizations on the Internet, finding a reliable source to provide accurate descriptions is not problematic.

The unrestrained news is the salient benefit of the information on the Internet. News organizations confine some issues as they may damage their reputation or as requested by the government, hiding the unfair treatment from the public. With the advent of the Internet, people can freely spread the events without paying any money, drawing attention to the problems and discrimination, thus helping resolve the situation. Moreover, the widespreadability of the news on the Internet means that the number of people who can see it is legion, so they can lend a hand to combat such unjust things. For instance, the news about the bondage of women in Iran has gained attention from the whole world and received support from people from multiple countries to fight back against the government.

In conclusion, the unreliability of the news on the Internet is a huge drawback. However, people can easily find trustworthy sources. Moreover, the freedom to voice problems through the Internet without confinement outweighs the demerits.