Children watch too much television nowadays and this is bad for their education and development. How far do you agree with this statement?

In recent years, because of the boom of new-cutting edge technology, metropolis children have a great chance to contact with it during the early days of a child. As a result, the majority of people think that there are a wide range of serious aspects not only for education but also for development of children. From my view, television has affected them in both of sides

On the one hand, I agree that excessive watching is detrimental to children education and psychological development. First of all, that children spend too much time on TV compared to other activities leads to the neglect of studying. As a consequence, their study is likely to decrease and even worse, they may be kicked out of school. Second, being more involved in inappropriate programs is associated with several negative effects regarding psychological development like violence, depression and autism. In addition, sitting in front of the TV for a long time can cause many serious illnesses, such as obesity or myopia. This can place a financial burden not only on their family but also on the society.

On the other hand, there are some undeniable evidences that prove a wide range of benefits of television. The reason for my view is that the number of knowledges in 21st century comes not only from school or family, but also from digital equipment like television or internet. For example, children can determine various soft skills like problem solving skill, communication skill or survival skill throughout documentaries or real shows on TV. In addition, based on some report sciences on TV, children can wide their know-how to develop their physical and mental well-being; for instance, “remember drink at least 2 litres water per day for the smooth metabolism in the body” or “how to be careful and pay attention when you hang out at night since you may deal with some evil social”

In conclusion, constant parental guidance is proven to be beneficial to children who watch TV to gain more useful knowledge for themselves.