Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities.

To what extent do you agree?

Companies often have strong influence on the people living around them. Some people hold that businesses should give local communities sports and social facilities. I completely agree with them because this can tremendously benefit both the companies and the groups.

Providing sports and social complexes for local residents either for profit or for free can be beneficial to the companies. There are endless demands for service of sports centers and buildings such as hospitals, schools and nursing homes. Therefore, with proper business strategies, there might be various chances for businessmen and businesswomen to generate profits from these fields. Moreover, even in the case that this is a free contribution they want to make to regional communities, not only multiple local governments are willing to offer them a tax cut to encourage other businesses to follow their examples, but also numerous potential customers and clients who live there may be attracted to their brand names with positive impressions.

Local communities can also gain benefits, namely meeting their demands for, such as, logistics or education and improving employment rate, from these companies’ actions. With the investment from the private sector in a free market, new key social and sports establishments such as new roads, fitness centers and universities can both diversify the choice of the public with various qualities and prices for their services and reduce overcrowding in state-owned facilities. Additionally, the investors of the facilities may recruit original residents for the building and operation of their organizations, thus cutting the unemployment rate in the area. For instance, in research published in The Economist last month, a plan for building a bridge, on average, can create more than 1000 jobs for a medium state in America.

In short, in my opinion, we should stimulate the providing of sports and social facilities for communities by local businesses because both the communities and companies can obtain mutual interests from this activity.