Computers are an essential feature of modern education. Some people believe that certain subjects, such as mathematics, are better taught using computers. Others, however, think that there are aspects of education in which computer use is inadequate.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the tech-driven world, digital devices such as computers have become one of the indispensable parts in many life’s aspects. However, while some people opine that computers should be adopted in education, others state that it is unnecessary. This essay will highlight the merits of both views before arriving at the conclusion.

On the one hand, adherents believe that computers boost the range of accessible insight and reasonable assessment. First of all, it is undoubted that thanks to the computers, students have a wealth of information via internet that is vital for their assignments and projects. To specify, a wide variety of articles, reports and studies complement the knowledge of learners, deepening an overview about an issue and developing critical thinking. In addition, computers facilitate personalized online lessons and analyze adequate data for assessment. For example, the programme iReady create private schedule for each student after testing them on subjects such as reading and math, so it could provide resources about students’ academic achievements for teachers. Thus, besides immediate feedback, online assessment is more efficient and effective than paper testing.

On the other hand, it is inevitable that computers in classrooms have some disadvantages. A significant point is that students have a proclivity to lose concentration span, negatively affecting the learning process during classes. Provided that there were social network and video games with vivid images and catchy rhymes, students could be distracted with temptation. Moreover, over-reliance on technology has been a debated matter when it comes to utilising digital gadgets at school. In other words, critics argue that spell check and other computer features that automatically correct errors in spelling and punctuation make students too lazy to learn and apply the rules themselves.

In conclusion, although there are pros and cons of computers mentioned above, I firmly believe that the the benefits outweigh its downsides. Therefore, it is suggestible that educators adopt computers in the process of learning.