The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

In this present era, the greatest challenge plaguing humanity is the continued increase in the global population. This essay will show that advancement in the medical and healthcare field is one of the reasons behind this development. However, I disagree with the notion that increasing population is the biggest issue faced by mankind, as other issues such as global warming is one of the most contending issues to human existence.

Admittedly, one of the major culprits for a continued surge in the world's population is the growth in medical and health field. Medical breakthroughs by scientist has made available and affordable to the public, medical drugs for curing all kinds of diseases. Hence, people are now able to use this drugs to better their health and prolong their life span. When this happens there is a decrease in death rate, thereby resulting to an increase in population.

Although a continued rise in population can cause severe downturns, many argue that there are other bigger problems facing human existence such as global warming and I agree. In otherwords, the problem of an increasing population can be curtailed by more awareness, promotion and education on family planning and use of contraceprives. Whereas, global warming is a serious environmental issue which has detrimental effects to our planet. For instance, according to the Global Scientist Association, should the issue of global warming continue to increase, humanity could be wiped out in the next 15 years. Thus, issues of global warming is far more a threat to humanity than a continued hike in population.

In conclusion, one of the possible causes of population increase is the progress in health and medicine and in my view, I disagree that a continued rise in population is the biggest issue faced by humanity as I believe the problems of global warming is far greater than global population increase.