As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In the era of nations prospering, there is an increase in a great number of individuals buying cars for transportation. While there are some controversial issues about the two sides of using cars, I would argue that the drawbacks to the habitat outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people have a tendency to possess their own cars. Firstly, it is indisputable that purchasing automobiles will make individuals feel more confident and it is also considered a fantastic way to demonstrate the wealth and social position of a person. For example, people nowadays are more inclined to appreciate others depending on their appearance and valuable items that they possess. This means that we might be extremely luxurious and elegant in others' eyes if we are capable of purchasing a car. Moreover, in comparison with motorcycles or bicycles, automobiles make us feel comfortable and convenient when transfering, especially in the tropical monsoon rain or scorching hot days.

On the other hand, I would assert that the whole community is confronted with a variety of tremendous devastating effects due to a significant rise in the number of cars. In the aspect of transportation, utilizing automobiles creates a considerable amount of emissions such as dust, gasoline, or even air and noise pollution. According to the Ministry of Transportation in Vietnam, the average emission of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere due to vehicles, especially cars, is roughly 4,2 million tons per year. This leads to the poorer quality of the environment, numerous alarming issues such as global warming, greenhouse gas, climate change, which directly affect people's health, respiratory diseases such as asthma, flu, etc.

In conclusion, while it is beneficial for residents when they possess a car to some extent, I also believe that the disadvantages to the environment are more significant.