Crimes and other kinds of information on TV and newspapers have bad consequences. This kind of information should be restricted to be shown in media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

It is not uncommon nowadays to watch and read news on television or newspaper about all sorts of crimes and violence being broadcasted in either nationwide or worldwide. Some say that the media should be restricted from showing heinous crimes as it leaves bad impact to society whereas, others oppose it. Personally, I firmly disagree with the former statement.

Granted, there are strong points that contradicts the idea of restricting the scope of news to be delivered to public. Firstly, it violates the code of ethics of Journalism in freedom of speech. The media has sworn to release right information to its subscribers. Limiting the news on crime scenes hinders the public from getting the genuine information.

Additionally, covering up the truth invalidates the integrity of the media. It is their job to tell all the necessary information to people that would draw-out public awareness. By showing the crimes that happened, it can warn the people and the government can take precautionary measures to keep national security. For example, during the Special Action Force 44 (SAF44) and militants encounter, the media follow up every details on what happened by gathering data between both parties and other civilians to avoid one-sided issue.

On the contrary, showing information regarding crime scenes, creates public fear. People fear that the predators are just out there waiting for their prey. Furthermore, instead of seeing positive news, all the negative issues bring bad vibes in the atmosphere. To exemplify, the raw footage of Malaysian search and rescue operation on Air Asia aircraft, showing dilapidated parts of the plane and floating bodies on the sea, angered the viewers because the news provider had mistakenly shown the decaying bodies of drowned victims.

In conclusion, the media should be transparent and sensitive enough in giving out the information on TV or newspaper. The public has the right to know what is happening around them.