Currenty there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However at best these methods are ineffective, and at worse they may be dangerous. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I

In recent years, there has been a growing distrust towards the major pharmaceutical companies among the public, which in turn has lead to a rebirth of herbal and quack medicine. Many believe this is a potentially hazardous development as alternative medicine scarcely works, and can often do more harm than good to patients. I am an advocate of this, as both the abandonment of scientific medicine and the adoption of quackery can have negative consequences to patients.

To begin with, expensive prices and overprescription of medications have led some people to doubt the intentions of big Pharma companies, causing people to turn to other options of treatments. However, even though modern medicine is overpriced, its efficacy has been proven by extensive experimentation and research, and so abandoning such proven treatment methods leads to a lack of recovery of patients. To illustrate, recent scares about the effectiveness and dangers of vaccination have lead to a drop in vaccine use, which has subsequently been followed by an increase in diseases that were controlled previously by vaccination.

In addition, quack medication itself is often harmful and at times even poisonous. Such medicine usually lack significant scientific backing, and are usually based on outdated traditional practices or faulty research. Because of this, they often contain harmful substances like steroids that further worsen the patient’s condition. For instance, one popular substance in alternative medicine is called amygdalin, which supposedly has anti cancer properties. However, research shows that not only does it have no beneficial efficacy, overuse of amygdalin can cause cyanide poisoning or even death. For these reasons such practices should be avoided.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree with the notion that the recent resurge of alternative medicine is a negative development. Such practices are dangerous and misguided, and scientific medicine will continue to be the superior form of patient care.