Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world.

What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

In this day and age, most people in modern societies lead busy lives with hectic work and home schedules. As a consequence, stress has become a major problem around the world. It is important to realize that stress is a health issue and should be addressed thoughtfully.

There are many factors that can be held responsible for causing stress, however much of the stress that people deal with is due to today’s modern lifestyle. Working adults and parents not only have to deal with busy and long hours at work, but must also take care of their families once they return home from work. Work related and financial troubles are notably a common trigger of tension. Likewise, college students are burdened with the hassles of frequent exam taking, lengthy assignments, and college fees. And school students carry the strain of achieving the scores required in order to enter competitive universities. In addition, young girls and women face the pressures of society to keep up with unrealistic beauty standards; this is largely due to the impact of social media. As people become more independent in today’s contemporary world, they are prone to facing more worries and pressures in different aspects of their lives.

In light of this, it is imperative that we step back and take into consideration these factors, in order to find solutions to reduce it. Studies have shown that exercise and meditation can help in reducing stress. Additionally, I believe that some quality time with loved ones and family can unburden a person from the daily stress of life. A healthy diet and sleep routine is also a major factor in relieving tension. Recent articles have shown that limiting the use of electronic devices such as tablets and mobile devices before bedtime can significantly improve sleep habits; and a healthy sleep routine is key to reducing stress.

To conclude, today’s modern lifestyle is quite demanding. Granted, as individuals and as a society, it is essential that we prioritize our mental health. The above-mentioned suggestions can help in promoting a healthy and stress free life.