The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Around the world, childhood obesity rates continue to rise. Over the past decade, there has been a significant and alarming rise in the percentage of overweight children in the West. It is critical that we address this issue effectively by discussing the causes and effects.

Western societies, especially in North America, are notorious for the large number of fast food chains that can be found at the corner of any block. Increased consumption of processed and unhealthy foods from fast food corners is a primary cause of this problem, as has been claimed in many health related articles. Additionally, the lack of exercise and outdoor activity is another key factor that should be considered as a cause of increased childhood obesity in Western countries. In today’s modern times, electronic devices such as mobile phones and gaming devices are largely responsible for decreased physical activity in children.

It is crucial that we consider the negative effects of this trend in order to help tackle the problem. Increased childhood obesity imposes grave health risks. It has lead to increased cases of childhood diabetes, as well as a number of other health problems including heart disease. An increased BMI is also associated with lethargy and depression. In other cases, children who are overweight are more vulnerable to negative attention and getting bullied in schools.

To sum up, childhood obesity is a serious issue and will continue to rise unless effective measures are taken. Personally I believe the government should be involved, for instance, by implementing strict regulations on the food provided in school cafeterias, we can ensure that children are getting healthier diet options. All things considered, as a society, we should help raise awareness and educate parents and children in order to solve the problem once and for good.