Cycling is an ideal mode of transport for busy urban centres. Do you agree?

Due to the increasing involvement of traveling, the rate of traffic congestions has definitely been increasing in contemporary society. This might lead to the fact that cycling is believed to be a perfect form of transport for busy urban centres; however, it also is as a matter for debate because biking is unlikely to gain benefits outweighed by its drawbacks. This essay will argue the disadvantages of cycling in the inner cities and will also be demonstrated by focusing on in the terms of environment, cost and communication.

The first argument is about environment impacted on by kinds of vehicles. In fact, doing cycle for transport on a daily basis is thought to be more eco-friendly compared to cars. Nonetheless, green cars still make a significant contribution to environmental preservation being like cycling. Specifically, whilst normal cars plays a negative part in air pollution because of emitting a huge amount of fuel exhaust into the atmosphere, alternative energy cars utilize natural powers such as wind, solar water which are not exhausted and are environmentally friendly. For instance, it is suggested that amount of carbon emissions from transport could be reduced by application of alternative energy cars such as electric cars being called to as “gridable vehicles” to replace traditional one for reducing emission from transportation.

Secondly, the cost is also a bone of contention. Despite the fact that the cost of purchasing a bike is lower than other vehicles, it is not included insurances in owning a cycle not being the same as having a car. In this case, insurance could cover repair and replacement of driver’s car in their rights for cases including theft, any kinds of damage, especially in traffic accidents. In contrast, there are not any forms of insurance to cover for a bike; in fact, if cyclers meet an accident such as a bicycle stolen, they would be impossible to get a insurance premium which means that cycler might be at a disadvantage compared with drivers. Furthermore, going for a drive is more convenient to communicate with others than cycling owning to the fact that it is simple to take family or friends for traveling together as not same as cycling in which it is not possible for bikers to carry other passengers.

In conclusion, it can be argued that there are several drawbacks of cycling to be an ideal form of transport for busy urban centres. Moreover, these disadvantages relate to aspects including environment, cost and communication. Consequently, individuals could choose a suitable vehicle for traveling such as cycling or driving depending on their needs; however, it seems to see that cycling’s benefit is outweighed by its drawbacks, which means other vehicles being more superior than bicycle could be an ideal form of transport.