Renewable energy should be applied to replace coal in Australia. Discuss this?

Coal is mined in every state of in Australia and it also plays an integral part in Australia’s economy; however, utilizing this power is likely to lead to a disastrous consequence of environmental contamination, which is noticeably a controversial issue in contemporary society. Owning to this, renewable energy should be applied to replace traditional fossil fuels. This essay will discuss the benefits and risks of greater energy variation in Australia. It will also focus on the merits of renewable energy source as well as the significance of the coal industry in this nation.

Firstly, there is no denying that exploiting alternative sources of power makes a substantial contribution to handle environmental problems such as air pollution specifically. In fact, coal is primarily used for the production of electricity by burned its. As a result from this, coal-fired power plants emit a huge amount of noxious exhaust into atmosphere. This may have negative impacts on human health; for instance, individuals living near the power plants can be suffered from lung cancers. In addition, due to Australia’s topography, there are bountifully available types of exploited power reserves in this region such as wind, hydro and solar being not only natural powers but also unlimited sources. Nicholls (2009) emphasizes that Australia continent receives the highest amount of solar radiation compared to other regions because of its most favorable conditions, giving this continent huge benefits and potential for solar energy production.

In contrast, some valid arguments are against greater energy diversification in Australia. It can be seen that Australia’s energy industry relies heavily on black coal in supplying for the residential consuming needs of electric energy and coal exports around the world. In the case of this, black coal might be an outstanding contributing factor in the growth of Australian economy deriving enormous benefits from the energy industry of Australia definitely. According to Sinclair (2013), it is asserted that Australia’s economy could be threatened seriously and approaches should be planned to solve this economical matter if coal is abandoned as well. Furthermore, products utilizing non-renewable energy tend not to have a high quality and popularity; as a consequence, these products could not satisfy consumer’s desires.

In conclusion, greater power diversification in Australia is still a matter for debate about its merits and drawbacks. Specifically, even though it is necessary to concentrate on not only the benefits of renewable energy sources relating to environmental problems, fossil fuel industry also is a key factor influencing Australian economy. Nonetheless, Earth is facing serious environmental issues such as climate change, air pollution because of overproduction of fossil fuel, this means that it should be encourage to use renewable energy sources for alleviating these contaminations as soon as possible in the future.