Nuclear power is a necessary evil despite the potential human and environmental consequences as radioactive fallouts , nuclear energy is a genuine alternative to non - renewable energy sources like oil and coal. Which are quickly running out. In short, the benefits of nuclear power outweigh the risks of using it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science has been a boon to mankind. As we are moving towards modernization and as the world population is increasing day by day, every nation is in the need of finding an alternative source of energy. Nuclear power is assumed to be a good substitute for the production of electricity, while some people concern about its disastrous consequences. I believe that the advantages of nuclear energy outweighs the cons and I shall provide reasons for my stand in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, nuclear power can replace the non-renewable natural gas, fuel and coal which are on the edge of depletion. Secondly, unlike fossil fuel-fired power plants, nuclear reactors do not produce air pollution or carbon dioxide while operating. As a fact, it protects our air quality as a form of zero-emission clean energy. Thirdly, atomic energy production requires minimum amount of material, for the radioactive elements are extremely powerful. For instance, a few grams of radioactive elements like uranium is equivalent to tons of coal.

In contrast, nuclear energy has adverse effects on physical as well as mental health. To exemplify, when atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki there was hardly any life in that area till 20 years, also the babies are born with one or the other defects in their body till date. Another disadvantage is that, if the tank in which radioactive materials are stored is leaked, it could harm the people living around and area of few hundred square kilometers. For instance, the incident occurred in Chernobyl is very well known to everyone.

To recapitalize, nuclear power if used carefully, has many merits. The organizations running the power plant will have to maintain the storage and avoid any faults. Then, the nuclear energy will do miracles to humans.