Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, a rising number of companies sponsor popular sports around the world to promote their company name and products to more people. However, some people argue that it the most effective way of promoting business products or services among people, others point out that it is a bad practice. Before giving my opinion, I would discuss both views in further paragraphs.

To begin with, funding sports gives benefits to both parties. While, company gets a golden chance to access a wider number of audience and increase their sales, sports get an opportunity to use that money to develop infrastructure and help their new players financially. Also, sponsorship is a great way for sport teams of poor nations to fund their campaigns. Without it, many of these countries will not be able to send their teams to international events like Olympics, Asian games, etc. Through financial support, a sportsperson can also earn extra income. This encourages young people to take sports as their career.

On the flip side, sponsoring sports is not a full proof method to promote commercial goods. If the player or the team is unable to perform well, it can badly affect the sales. A larger damage could be faced by the company if players are involved in illegal things such as drugs and gambling. Furthermore, sports is not a platform to advertise products like liquor, as it may damage the reputation of player or the team.

All in all, supporting sports financially is a vast industry these days. It has given many advantages to both packs. Demerits associated with this field are negligible. I believe that it the duty of players to maintain the quality of the game without involving themselves in scandals.