Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

The energy produced by using sunlight is preferred by citizens of different nations around the world to run the electronic items in their homes. I would like to describe the reason for this cause and also discuss the pros and cons for the same.

A few decades ago, it was discovered that we can produce electricity by the means of sunrays. The equipment that carry out this conversion is a solar plant which includes solar panels. Many households install solar power plant because it takes just one time investment. One needs to spend only 1 to 2 lakhs rupees to attach a solar plant to their house and they can obtain electricity free for their lifetime. Secondly, solar energy is highly eco-friendly as it does not produce any by-products like the thermal power plant does. Also, it produces no noise while generating electricity and does not toxify the environment. The maintenance fee too is very less. If more people opt for solar energy, the electric cables will be reduced and the birds which are harmed by open cables will be safe.

The only drawback that solar energy has is itself the sunlight. Because the solar plant is totally dependent on sunlight, it may not be useful in regions where the sunlight is not frequent and also during cloudy weather in monsoon and winter. But it can be fixed by storing the electricity produced during sunny days.

to put in a nutshell, I pen down saying that solar energy is a good option as a source of domestic household energy. The advantages outweigh disadvantages. Hence, more individuals should use solar energy if possible.