Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

These days a great number of people opt to work for themselves instead of working as an employee in a company or organization. There are various reasons why they do so. I would like to discuss some of the reasons in the following paragraphs for people being self-employed.

Firstly, nowadays people have become very much aware of the benefits of being self-employed and so there a large number of start-ups. They can be their own boss, there is no one to order them. Due to which they are free to implement their own ideas without waiting for other person to approve it. The other reason is that for being employed in an organization, one needs to be educated and needs to receive higher degrees if he wants to earn good. While start-ups does not require any qualification, even someone who has never been to school can open a business and make a favorable amount of money.

However, there are also some demerits of being self-employed. As the number of start-ups have grown to a huge extent the competition has increased a lot and it is really difficult to make a good place in the market. The person also has to take responsibility for all the people he has employed. Lastly, if a business fails, he owner may suffer loss which may bring stress and depression and may also affect his mental health. Also there is no guarantee that the self-employed person may earn sufficient amount of money to survive throughout his life. Whereas when a person who is employed in a company can be satisfied as he is sure that he will receive a pay-check at the end of the month.

All in all, many people fear cons of being self-employed and so they decide to be on a safe side.