Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

There are some controversial ideas heating a debate over the fact that although bikes have more positive impacts on the environment than other means of transportation, now it is not seen as the main vehicle in daily life. This essay is devoted to analysing the roots of this dire problem and offers some remedies to improve the proportion of bicycles used.

There are a wealth of culprits contributing to this phenomenon. The advent of technology with more functions and convenience is the most determining reason, diminishing bikes. In the past, bikes helped people travel more effortlessly rather than walking or riding horses, especially when they have to travel long distances. However, when motorcycles were introduced, their advantages, which were less time consumed and automatic mechanism, lessened the importance of bikes. Moreover, not suffering from hazardous weather also leads to the loss of bikes. Car can be cited as a convincing and underlying example when you are able to drive safely in torrential rain.

An eclectic mix of viable measures to stimulate people's interest in cycling are required to be taken by both authorities and individuals. Regarding the government, funding should be allocated on building new lanes for bicycles only. By doing this, perhaps citizens are more willing to go to work by bike because they can freely ride without any disturbance from other vehicles. In terms of individuals, campaigns raising awareness of the influence of cycling on alleviation of environmental problems should be intensified. Once they perceive tremendous benefits of moving by bike, they would be nudged towards more sustainable vehicles such as bikes.

To sum up, since the of state of art technologies are progressing, we have more tendency to move by motor vehicles than bikes. To encourage the population to ride a bicycle, both governments and people should associate, instead of letting it fall into disuse.