Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

There are some controversial ideas heating a debate over the fact that although bike has more positive impacts on environment than other means of transportation, now it is not seen as the main vehicle in daily life. This essay is devoted to analysing the roots of this dire problem and offer some remedies to improve the proportion of bicycle used.

There are a wealth of culprits contributing to this phenomenon. The advent of technology with more functions and convenience is determining reason, diminishing bikes. In the past, bike help people travel more effortlessly rather than walking or riding horses, especially when they have to travel in long distances. However, when motorbikes were introduced, their advantages, which are less time consumed and automatic mechanism, lessened the importance of bike. Moreover, not suffering from hazardous weather also leads to the loss of bike. Car can be cited as a convincing and underlying example when you are able to drive safely in torrential rain.

An eclectic mix of viable measures to stimulate people interest in cycling are required to be taken by both authorities and individuals. Regarding government, funding should be allocated on building new lane for bicycle only. By doing this, perhaps citizens are more willing to go to work by bike because they can freely ride without any disturbance from other vehicles. In term of individuals, campaigns raising awareness of influence of cycling on alleviation environmental problem should be intensified. Once they perceive tremendous benefits of moving by bike, they would be nudge towards more sustainable vehicles such as bike.

To sum up, since the of state of art technologies is progressing, we have more tendency to move by motor vehicles than bikes. To encourage population to ride a bicycle, both governments and people should associate, instead of let it fall into disuse.