Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

There are some controversial ideas heating a debate over how to educate students. While some institutions compel 15-year-old children to absorb certain subjects, others demand their scholars to learn a wide range of subjects until graduating. From my point of view, I believe the merits of the latter cannot overshadow those of its counterpart.

Learning a wide array of knowledge plays a paramount role in broadening student’s capability of seeing the world from different aspects. This may act as prerequisite for teenager to integrate into harsh community with ease. While some people, who having limited insight of certain subjects, may struggle with problems out of their field, students with their extensive curriculum find handling obstacles straightforward due to their background knowledge. For instance, a student who can have not only certain knowledge but also experiences from extracurricular activities are more potentially succeed than its fellows.

While the redeeming features of holistic curriculum are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of one-subject concentration are ignored. youngsters who acquiring profound insights are superior to others in some extents. Instead of studying 13 compulsory subjects, they just have to what they yearn for and put more dedication to it. Thus, they have high chance to land a decent job and move up on career ladder. Furthermore, studying one subjects help them to save their valuable time for different stuff such as relaxation, entertaining,…. Therefore, the efficiency of their work is enhanced, and the knowledge they digest can be etched in your memory longer.

To sum up, although studying wide range of knowledge can have some positive impacts on both social skills and academic journey, a specialized subject would serve more useful purpose. So that I think that kind of teaching method should be implemented in order to optimize the outcome for students.