Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

In many places around the world, cyclists and drivers are occupying the same lanes, which is attributed to precarious risks. There, nevertheless, are feasible solutions to alleviate this issue.

The first and foremost issue stemming from bikes and cars being on the same road is the interruption to traffic flow. The discrepancies in speed between two vehicle types can disturb the normal flow of road transport when, for example, a vehicle intends to take a turn or when a high-speed vehicle goes after a low-speed one. Another existential threat is that both cyclists and automobiles are exposed to grave risks of accidents while in the same lane. Every year, multifarious cases of fatal collisions are alarmingly reported. Meanwhile, riders who were only preserved by helmets are always put in greater jeopardy compared to drivers that have better protection such as airbags and seatbelts equipped in cars thus shared roads are a fatal menace to riders.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned potential dangers, a number of measures are advised. Firstly, aside from strict punishments imposed on convictions against road safety enhancement, regulations concerning the maximum speed of large vehicles should be adopted to crack down on accidents deriving from overspeed. Secondly, the state budget should be spent on designing separate roads owing to the distinct functions of each means of transportation so that they can travel simultaneously. Finally, in cities whose total area is limited for transportation, the municipality can set up a timeframe for each type of vehicle. For instance, scheduling operating time specified for giant trucks carrying containers from 11:00 pm to 4:00 am when most individual commuters are resting can deter lethal crashes faced by the smaller ones.

In conclusion, though pairing on one road between cyclists and automobiles conspicuously results in hazardous repercussions, there exists a multitude of remedies for this issue.