The definition of success

People have different views about the meaning of success. While it is considered by some that success is defined by material possessions, I still advocate the opinion that knowledge is the driving force behind a successful person.

There are several reasons why people might argue that material possessions measure success. First and foremost, since people own a huge property, they can ensure a stable life. In contrast, those who are not well-off have to earn their livings under poor circumstances. This may prevent people from pursuing their dream to become a successful person. Secondly, it is no secret that as people are wealthy and have hight status in the society, they are usually respected by others. For instance, a CEO of a firm is typical of a successful individual due to his position in workplace as well as appreciation from employees.

In spite of the above arguments, I strongly support the view that knowledge makes a great contribution to the definition of success. The main point is that a solid grasp of specific fields helps individuals to reach their full potentials. In doing so, people must obtain skills and expertise so that they can utilize those factors in a practical way. As an illustration, people will be given more chances to opt for their future occupation as a result of an elaborated understanding of the job market demands. In my point of view, it is important for them to find a job that both suits their desire and meets the need of the market. A dream career will easily lead to success.

In brief, sometimes success should be measured by material factors, but from my perspective, knowledge is the deciding element of a successful individual in the long term.