Personal electronic devices such as smartphones, laptops or tablets are getting more common as learning tools. Do the advantages of using these devices outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, individual electronic gadgets such as tablets, smartphones or laptops have gained enormous popularity. Notwithstanding a set of drawbacks that these devices involve, their benefits are much more noticeable.

On the one hand, exerting digital devices in learning may have some major disadvantages. The greatest downside of these gadgets is the distraction happening to students. Many students feel so bored in lessons as games, music and Facebook seem to be more intriguing to them. It is no secret that students check their phones up to 11 times a day in class. Obviously, it leads to a decline in their test results. Another negative aspect I want to mention is the prevalence of improper information. Since these devices are connected to the Internet, users are easily absorbed in negative and unofficial sources of information. For instance, false knowledge from an inappropriate book online may mislead students who read it.

On the other hand, although utilizing electronic devices in the domain of studying has several drawbacks, they offer users a variety of benefits. Initially, compared to traditional learning methods, these implements supply students with a more diverse source of information, pictures and videos, which assist in illustration while studying. Through tablets, phones and laptops, students are more likely to have a better grasp of lessons. Furthermore, there are numerous applications utilized in studying. Rather than spending time on textbooks, teachers can allow students to listen to podcasts or improve pronunciation through voice recognition apps. Another point in favor of advantages is that electronic gadgets prompt students’ self- reliance. Though there are questions about whether numerous online sources of information are reliable or not, they are still served as helpful materials for students to learn on their own. For example, they can find the meaning of a word by looking up in a dictionary on their phone instead of asking teachers.

In short, exerting individual electronic devices in the classroom has been a successful step in the revolution of learning methods. Despite the disadvantages these gadgets may bring, they still do more good than harm.