Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people would prefer to pursue tertiary education at universities or colleges rather than enroll in vocational training courses. While I agree that vocational training should be strongly promoted, I do not believe that this kind of education is well-suited for everybody.

There are two primary reasons why more people should be vocationally trained. First and foremost, manual workers play a vital role in the construction and renovation of buildings. Frequent degradation in terms of existing buildings might happen without them. In fact, a maintenance staff is permanently employed in schools or hospitals in order to fix the damage and guarantee the safety of all who use the buildings. Secondly, there seems to be an imbalance in the labor force. These days the unemployment of university graduates has become an economic and social burden, while there is a shortage in manual workforce simultaneously. As a result, it must be a top government priority to provide more extra vocational training or even integrating it into the school curriculum.

However, there are several drawbacks to take into consideration before joining vocational courses. To begin with, this kind of training requires a huge amount of time and energy. People not only have to master their knowledge related to their chosen profession, but they also have to spend time on hands-on experience and skills to become highly-qualify tradesmen, which sometimes may lead to mental and physical exhaustion. In addition, those doing vocational training courses might face difficulties in employment prospects. Office staff tend to have a stable source of income; while blue-collar workers are likely to be prone to a lower level of salary and less chance to climb the promotion ladder.

In short, although vocational training should be adopted on a large scale in contemporary society, it requires consideration in whether to take it or not.