The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what
extent do you agree or disagree?
It is generally held that a skill set should be essentially provided for parents in order to reduce
juvenile crime. While it is parents’ responsibility to educate their offspring, I would argue that
there are more effective ways to minimize illegal acts from the young.
Education of parental skills would reduce youth crime to some certain extent. First and foremost,
the way children are brought up exerts a definitely great impact on their social awareness and
personal traits. Research has shown that one of the most popular reasons for juvenile crime is
inappropriate education from parents, leading to anti-social behaviors and illegal acts from their
offspring. Hence, counseling services should be high on parents’ agenda whenever they
encounter difficulties in nurturing children. Secondly, parents are more aware of the danger of
juvenile delinquency due to parental skills. If parents are educated to be socially conscious, they
can prevent behavioral problems from scratch, lessening the possibility of children committing
the crime.
Nevertheless, parental education is not the optimum solution to the phenomenon. Instead, further
methods should be adopted on a large scale to overcome youth crime. To commence with, it is
schools’ responsibility to educate children not only theoretical knowledge but also moral
qualities. While ethical lessons should be officially integrated into the school curriculum,
teachers ought to impose class regulations to avoid disruptive students. In addition, strict law
enforcement must be the top governmental priority. Prison sentences for serious youth offenses
such as a knife or gun crime need to be executed largely to set examples for others. Besides, in
some European nations, youngsters can be given second chances to atone for their illegal acts by
doing community service.
In short, although a skill set for parents plays a vital role in preventing youth crime, many more
methods should be urgently implemented to eradicate this social evil.