The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital era, with the quick spread of mass media, there is much debate around the content of news reported to the public. While the presence of negative content on mass media is no longer unknown to the public, it is considered by numerous people that more good news should be disseminated in repetitive stories. In my opinion, I partly agree with both of these statements. The following essay will clarify my point of view.

On the one hand, publicizing good news creates a source of inspiration. It is no secret that once the media pushes good stories reflecting good examples who better the society, more people are inspired to do the same. For instance, that a boy helps the elderly to cross the street sets an example for his peers to follow. In addition, the spread of good news is likely to advocate people who do good deeds. They may feel themselves helpful to the society, especially to those in need, which is an incentive for them to keep up their meaningful work. These days, there is no shortage of news reporting the hardship of doctors and nurses in fighting against COVID 19. Good stories about them may partially be the driving force behind their continuous efforts. What is more, media positivity results in optimistic attitudes towards life among human. Good news helps to reinforce people’s faith in the government or the kindness of others around them.

On the other hand, I am also of the opinion that mass media should pay more attention to the negative sides of the society rather than good ones. First and foremost, it gives human a deeper view of the present reality. This kind of reporting enables the news to cast light on many of the world’s existing problems that need tackling. Without bad news, people may misunderstand certain life actuality and give out the wrong decisions. Secondly, a rise in human awareness may result from exposure to negative news. Since stories of violence, crime and infrastructural degradation are given priority as the top stories of the day, people will take action to resolve them. Moreover, highlighting social injustices has encouraged progressive movements like struggles for women’s rights and racial equality.

All things considered, in some cases, good stories should be widely publicized. However, the media should focus more on negative content which contributes a lot to social improvement.