Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of whether to reward students who possess outstanding academic performance or those with improved grades remains a source of controversy in recent times. The following essay will discreetly analyze both views and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On the one hand, there are several reasons supporting the advocates of rewarding excellent students. First and foremost, this paves the way for competition among excellent students. Instead of being satisfied with the results, they would work more industriously on their assignments and test scores to compete with their peers to achieve the prizes. Secondly, rewards make it no longer challenging to seek out talented students. Offering rewards in every examination would draw the attention and participation of more students; hence, more outstanding factors can be identified based on the test results. This, undoubtedly, gives rise to further academic development as the authorities would pay special attention to those students. and allocate resources to nurturing their abilities.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned points, I would argue that offering prizes to those making strides in their learning should be high on the school agenda. To commence with, this provides equivalent chances for students at all levels. Bias in favor of top students does not exist anymore and every student can receive fair treatment as long as they show enhancement in academic performances. Additionally, the policy can be the driving force for children’s learning spirits. When the opportunities are divided adequately for all, they are no longer under the pressure of competing with peers to get high scores for rewards. Instead, a sense of enjoyment emerges among students, boosting their overall understanding and efficiency in every lesson.

In short, although rewarding excellent students may do wonders to a certain extent, it still seems that both the educational system and students can reap more benefits from the policy of giving prizes for improving ones.