Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary society, as a multi-billion dollar industry, advertising is popular worldwide. It is no secret that people are unavoidably bombarded with advertisements through numerous kinds of media outlets such as TV, phone or radio. There are many concerns about whether this will bring about negative impacts or not, and it could be argued that the number of drawbacks and benefits are involved in equal measure.

On the positive side, advertising doubtlessly plays a key role in modern life. First and foremost, advertising keeps customers well-informed about products. As soon as companies launch new products or services, buyers will be able to catch up-to-the-minute details about them and then make purchases on the great array of selections. In addition, as a new kind of commerce, thousands of employment opportunities are dispensed by advertisement. Since advertising becomes a popular industry catering for the need of billions of people, it also creates a large quantity of occupations for those who are unemployed. For instance, jobless painters and copywriters are employed to design posters or logos for advertising agencies.

On the negative side, to some extents, advertisement involves disadvantages. To begin with, due to the great boom in advertising industry, products’ details are sometimes exaggerated and distorted. This originates in careless and deficient censorship. As an expected outcome, consumers might go through confusion about these items. What is more, the dissemination of advertising plays a negative influence over the buying power of consumers. As there are a lot of advertisements on TV, consumers are inevitably swayed by them and have a tendency of buying goods impulsively in the light of appealing pictures and sounds. Last but not least, advertising may affect children in particular. They often put their parents under pressure to buy them anything they can see on the screen. This may make parents tired.

In short, I claim that when it comes to advertisement, the number of benefits is the same as that of drawbacks.