International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In today’s integrated and interdependent world, globalization has permeated every aspect of our lives, laying the foundation for the flourishing of transnational tourism. A controversy is widely sparked as to whether global travel exerts a positive or negative impact on the status quo. From my perspective, civilians worldwide would reap more benefits than drawbacks from the upsurge in overseas arrivals.

On the one hand, there are several implications when it comes to transnational travels. First and foremost, this kind of tourism is held accountable for environmental degradation. Visitors, in particular, can take a heavy toll on the intact surroundings by ruthless actions such as littering leftover foods or vandalism in places of interest. Besides, a huge influx of tourists on a frequent basis is synonymous with a dramatic increase in demand for accommodation, which requires public and private sectors to erect more hotels and resorts to satisfy the need. In order to do so, deforestation and loss of natural habitats to make way for infrastructure construction are inevitable.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned downsides, there are justifiable reasons why transnational tourism should be fostered on a large scale. The first worth-nothing point is none other than economic benefit. In recent years, tourism has become the primary industry in many nations, especially third-world ones, generating huge revenue for host countries. In other words, an expansion of tourism raises the demand for locally produced goods and services, and in turn, increases their relative prices. International travel also serves as a panacea for employment problems when hotels, restaurants or tourist destinations are usually in need of staff. Those who do not possess a tertiary graduation degree can take advantage of their practical skills and hands-on experience to become local tour guides or taxi drivers. In addition, cross-cultural understanding is simultaneously fostered with tourism. Initially, the inherent discrepancy in terms of tradition and religious belief between locals and foreign tourists may be significant. However, regular interaction would facilitate better mutual understanding, which paves the way for more cross-country business and cultural cooperation in the long term. For example, irrespective of clashes in the past, Vietnam now has expunged the long-standing grievances with America, heading towards a firm relationship as well as collaboration on political and economic scopes.

All things meticulously considered, although tourism is the major culprit of many ecological issues, it still seems to me that it plays inarguably a pivotal role in the economic growth of host countries, alongside enhancing mutual understanding between them.