These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out at work. What could be the reason for this? Do you think it is positive or negative development?

It is no secret that there is an increase in the number of men taking on the househusband role while more and more women are becoming the breadwinners of their family. There could be several reasons for it, and I assert that this reversal is a positive trend.

Recent decades have witnessed many modifications with regard to the social position of male and female. Women are no longer totally subordinate to their spouses, instead they tend to step out of home and become career women. It has also been socially acceptable for men to stay at home and do childcare. Compared to the old days when prejudices against women still existed as a matter of specific concern, modern context comes with the fact that marriage partners can equally exchange roles depending on personal preference. More opportunities are open for female to pursue their dreams, meanwhile male spend more time on domestic tasks.

From my own perspective, the change described above should be seen as progress. Equating the responsibilities of both genders is critical not only for attaining the so-called gender parity but also for meeting a wide range of development goals. It undoutedly helps to boost women’s potential in many respect such as politics, military or economy. As a result, the society is filled with joy the weak sex is under no pressure to freely achieve success. At the same time men are in charge of childcare and home affairs as they wish to do. Couples should be left to make their own decisions about which parental roles each partner takes, according to their particular circumstances and needs.

All things considered, the changing role of men and women is likely a breakthrough in terms of gender equality, which is desirable in the contemporary era.