In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live on, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to global warming and numerous environmental problems, human survival on Earth will inevitably encounter difficulties in the future. While it is generally held that the authorities should pour money into space research to find another sustainable place, I would argue that it is unnecessary to do so.

It tends to be more challenging to live on the Earth. First and foremost, it is partly due to the gradual depletion of natural resources. Human overconsumption of non-renewable energy for personal purposes leads to the fact that there may be no savings for the future. For example, fossil fuel such as petrol is heavily exploited to cater for the demand of the increasing number of car users. Environmental degradation is another reason. Pollution has permeated every aspect of life, making human survival on Earth impossible if there is no urgent solution. For example, there will be a shortage of freshwater if factories keep discharging chemical waste into rivers and seas.

Although the aforementioned problems should be tackled in order to protect human life, expenditure on the discovery of alternative planets would be a waste. To commence with, resources are required in many other fields apart from space exploration. Money is needed not only to combat youth illiteracy but also to ameliorate hospital infrastructure and provide free healthcare services for the unprivileged. Additionally, instead of finding out a new homeland, solving the current situation of the Earth is much more essential. The public and private sectors’ budget ought to be spent on the production of eco-friendly vehicles and machines which release no or little emissions. For example, by manufacturing cars operated by wind and solar energy, there would be less greenhouse gas and pollution, making it viable to survive on Earth in the future.

In short, although the living conditions on Earth may be too tough to sustain human life, the quest for the new homeland is set to be a waste of time and resources.