A large number of parents and students think that current college entrance examination should be abolished together. What do you think?

In recent years, there is a fierce controversy concerning the issue of whether a principle of rescinding tertiary entrance examination should be done away with or not. While admission tests to a four-year college program is of paramount importance in some respects, the shortcomings of this policy are more significant.

There are many benefits of proposing uniform college entrance exam. To begin with, it helps to classify students’ levels. Taking the grueling tests is a good chance to pick out those who have outstandingly academic performance. Hence, they can be accepted into top-tier schools, where there is better access to challenging learning resources and exposure to peers at the same levels. On the contrary, groups of student getting low entry score will be categorized into lower-ranking academes. Additionally, examination broadens students’ horizon in terms of expertise. Since college entrance exams are standardized to eveluate students for admission purposes, the main focus of these is likely a wide range of knowledge in all fields rather than a specific one. Students hereby have to go over on all subjects and even carry out research to cultivate their mind ready for the upcomming exam.

However, the drawbacks of conducting examinatiom for post-secondary education are greater, far outweighing the advantages. First and foremost, it may trigger negativity in scores. The most typical example recently is Ha Giang, where several examiners are accused of giving unfair grades as a result of bribery. Consequently, the dreams to enrol for high-ranking universities of other students are directly stolen. Secondly, students are put under much test anxiety due to punishingly difficult exams. It is a proven fact that those involving in heavy workloads tend to suffer from complete exhaution, leading to various physical well-being problems. Furthermore, pressure coming from parents may cause an improper competitiveness between their offsprings and peers.

All things considered, the abolition of tertiary entrance examination is vitally chief in a sense that in not only brings about an innovative breakthrough in the college recruitment but also improves students’ life.