In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live on , such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that living on this planet may be more struggling in the near future, thus, it is thought that there should be further investments in searching for other alien civilizations such as Mars to reside in. Personally, I somewhat agree with this opinion because the population is alarmingly rising and there may be a serious scarcity of fresh water and natural resources; however, the allocation for the amelioration of living standards is also indispensable.

The main reason why I believe that research about other planets should receive more fundings is that the population is on the period to escalate considerably. To be more specific, according to the recent survey, the global population has climbed to 83 million people on an annual basis and there is a prediction that the number of people in 2050 may reach 9,8 million people. Subsequently, the research into new planets is of the utmost importance because more space will compensate for the lack/ scarcity of land for (every individual)/ inhabitants on Earth. In addition, due to the rapid/ burgeoning growth of the population could lead to the depletion of natural resources namely freshwater and fossil fuels, causing the impossibility of serving residents’ demands.As a result, only when a new planet is explored do people stand a better chance of having sufficient resources to consume.

However, it does seem reasonable that national and local authorities have to be responsible for the current living conditions. As a matter of fact, in today's fast-paced life along with the increasing demand for consumption, citizens have to struggle with a variety of environmental-related obstructions. Subsidies, therefore, have to be spent on the improvement of facilities and the solutions to those severe social issues. As an illustration, if money is allocated for the renovation and conversion of the eco-transport system, the emissions from petrol-used transports will be cut down which alleviates the carbon footprints released to the ozone layer. In other words, the Earth could be liveable for billions of creatures and humanity in the future.

In conclusion, I am somewhat of the opinion that the discovery of new planets should be funded because of the overpopulation and a dearth of natural resources. However, I admit that the expenses for various aspects of life are also vital. Given the situation, it seems that a balance of expenditure should be imposed to benefit citizens adequately.