Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Few individuals contend that there is a lack of recycled products from home, thus imposing an official rule to force citizens to increase their amount of recycling is the only method believed to be effective. While this view is valid to a certain extent, I somewhat agree with it because there are other more pragmatic methods to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, it is argued that it is essential to introduce legislation to increase recycling. If a recycling-related rule is strictly set, various people will perceive the significance of the matter and follow owing to the chance of being sentenced or seriously punished for not observing it. However, this is actually a flawed solution. As an increasing quantity of disposable items is generated, governments would not be able to require individuals to reuse their past products, leading to an alarming rate of waste released to the environment.

On the other hand, I believe that the increase in the cost of daily commodities and the policy to encourage companies to produce a wide range of reusable products are more effective means to address the root of the problem. First and foremost, raising the price of items will present an opportunity for people to reuse the products they have recently bought. A good illustration of this is if the price of a flower vase is 50 dollars, customers will take several used water bottles into account and decorate them to utilize for flowers. Secondly, urging entrepreneurs to manufacture more environmentally friendly products is of utmost importance. Only by this way will customers stand a better chance of recycling their products as opposed to throwing them away.

In conclusion, I somewhat support the notion that a new law should be enacted to raise the number of people who recycle due to the perception they can derive from it. However, I admit that there are different potential approaches that contribute to a higher rate of recycling.