Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

It is obviously right that household waste is not recycled properly and completely. Although I admit that legal regulations to force people to recycle is helpful in this situation, I totally disagree that imposing a new legal law is the only way that governments should take into considerations.

In my opinion, a new requirement for recycling can be just one possible method to deal with the waste issue. The governments make it a legal obligation for homeowners to classify all waste into different bins and put them into the right bins. If people who fail to follow this rule, they will be punished by paying a considerable fine or engaging in community service. Moreover, the authorities take repeat offenders out of court and put them in the jails for their actions. These measures can be a deterrent and encourage people to observe the law. As a result, the homeholders improve the behavior as well as the environment is cleaner and fresher.

However, I strongly think that there can be more methods for government can do than they just simply enact a law. One of the best measure for recycling the authorities can do is that they raise awareness of citizens, especially children through education which is the heart of the recycling campaign. For instance, children can be taught about the importance of recycling in schools and homeowners can be well-formed about the serious influences on the environment if household waste cannot be handled. Another measure that governments can introduce stricter requirements on companies and factories so that the companies follow the rule that protecting the environment is a priority. The other method can be carried out by the authorities is that they can invest a large amount of money into enhancing the efficiency of recycling systems and building many facilities to reprocess rubbish.

To sum up, it is undeniable that introduce of new legislation can make people improve their behavior but there are some better methods that need to be considered in to improve the situation.