The subjects and lesson contents are decided by authorities such as the government. Some people argue that teachers should make the choice. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the state provides the curriculum to each school across the country. however, some individuals contend that they are superior to be given by teachers. In my opinion, I somewhat advocate this idea owing to the profound understanding of students’ performance although authorities also have a crucial role to play in equal academic attainment.

The main reason why I do believe that the learning system should be set by the government is that it gives equal learning opportunities to all students. To be more specific, there are various prestigious schools with prohibitively expensive tuition fees that youngsters from low-income backgrounds cannot afford. Therefore, a national curriculum presents a possibility for each young learner to receive a well-rounded education. One good installation of this is on the final examination, students will have a sense of comfort to sit their exam without worrying about the discrepancy in the knowledge given in the tests.

However, it does seem that having a universal educational program can squeeze all students into the same mold instead of entitling them a chance to progress rapidly in their studies. It is undeniable that teachers have a better understanding and observation about their students’ academic performance. Specifically, in one class, there is a difference in each individual’s ability, thus, the freedom to regulate the lesson contents enables teachers to supervise each situation so that all students can make the most of them. In other words, the suitable teaching methods and the educational system could guarantee that no child will fall behind the class. A particular example of this is if a teacher can abandon several unimportant sources of knowledge, can she deliver the most understandable lecture to her pupils. Not only can this approach alleviate the pressure of memorizing a huge amount of information but it also brings about effective lessons.

In conclusion, while the youth of today can reap the benefits from the national provision of curriculum, I would like to reiterate that allowing teachers to make a decision about knowledge imparted is a more appropriate option in most circumstances. Given the situation, I suggest that the government should adopt a right for teachers to make a choice of their teaching depending on the basis of education provided by the government.