Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Few individuals contend that there is a lack of recycled products from home, thus imposing an official rule to force citizens to increase their amount of recycling is the only method believed to be effective. While this view is valid to a certain extent, I somewhat agree with it because there are other more pragmatic methods to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, if a recycling-related rule is strictly set, various people will perceive the significance of the matter and obey the rules owing to the possibility of being sentenced or seriously punished for their offense. However, this is actually a flawed solution. As an increasing quantity of disposable items is generated, governments would not be able to require individuals to reuse their past products, leading to an alarming rate of waste released to the environment.

On the other hand, I believe that the increase in the cost of daily commodities and the rise of collections for recycled products are more effective means to address the root of the problem. First and foremost, raising the price of items will present an opportunity for people to reuse the products. A good illustration of this is if the price of a flower vase is 50 dollars, customers will take several used water bottles or glass into account and design them to arrange flowers for the ornamental purpose . Secondly, there is no doubt that considering recycling as a work of art may increase the number of reused products. A particular example of this is the more clubs and projects for decorating and designing old items have been opened, appealing to not only ordinary people, especially the youth but also the media, which then propagandize about the outstanding merits of these environmentally friendly activities.

In conclusion, I somewhat support the notion that a new law should be enacted to raise public awareness about recycling. However, I admit that there are different potential approaches that contribute to a higher rate of recycling.