Some people focus on news in their country, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Few individuals contend that it is necessary to concentrate on local news, whereas others believe that the awareness of global news is of greater importance. This essay attempts to shed light on both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective.

On the one hand, there are people who argue that there should be favoritism for international information. The main reason for this belief is that it provides the latest reports of the global urgent issues. In terms of the environment, in current life, the natural habitat is seriously deteriorated by deforestation, global warming, ice melting, and so on. Consequently, only by perceiving the urgency of those affairs on a global scale can citizens make greater efforts to ameliorate the problems. In addition to this, keeping updated with worldwide news encourages us to grasp the spread of the pandemic situation. One good illustration of this is when American news coverage demonstrates the alarming number of people who suffer from the Covid-19 epidemic every day, inhabitants from all over the world will recognize the severity of the matter to make timely decisions to alleviate the outbreak of it.

On the other hand, it is often argued that in fact, the information of a country should make headlines among citizens. People have this opinion because from the perspective of employment, keeping abreast of the recent variations of the labor market presents an opportunity for them to advance corresponding alterations related to skills and knowledge to adapt to a new working community, encouraging them to apply for lucrative jobs as well as move up the career ladder. Furthermore, people can reap the benefits of keeping up-to-date with political domestic news. In fact, several events such as voting for a new position of principal are essential for the development of a nation, thus, each citizen stands a better chance of being a candidate in the election, contributing to a sense of responsibility toward society.

In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits; however, On the whole, I consider focusing on national and local reports as a more appropriate option in most circumstances.