Today, TV channels provide more men's sports than women's sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

It is true that in modern life various men’s sports-related programs is more prevalent than women's ones. While there are various reasons for this trend, I do believe that it is not necessary to spend the same amount of time between two genders’ sport.

There are several compelling reasons for the favoritism for the shows of men’s sport. First and foremost, it is undeniable that there is a discrepancy between the leisure activities of the two sexes that may be a contributing factor. To be more specific, a vast majority of males have a tendency to watch gender-related sports matches during their leisure time rather than females. Therefore, a reduction of the number of females' sports shows will be introduced to increase the number of views with a view to maximizing profits by program manufacturers. Secondly, there is no doubt that it is more appealing to watch men’s court games. In fact, males’ sports consist of more risky situations than women’s ones, which create a sense of adventure and flutter when keeping viewers’ eyes glued to the screen. As a result, individuals in different age groups seem to allocate a greater deal of time following various men’s activities, leading to the difference in time demonstrations between two gender matches.

Owing to the aforementioned reasons, I am inclined with the notion that equal time for males’ and females’ sports should not be exerted. As a matter of fact, if the time for men’s sports is restricted to balance between women’s ones, a large number of viewers will decrease, resulting in the considerable loss of money on an annual basis spent on them. Consequently, in order to meet the sales criteria and expenses for recording, it is of greater importance to maintain the current number of sports programs or even increase the figures for men.

In conclusion, the prevalence and interest are two driving factors to the different distributions of gender-related sports. I believe that TV channels are not essential to provide the corresponding duration for them.