Demand for food is increasing worldwide.

What is the cause of this?

What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

These days, there is an increasing need for food globally because farmers are facing numerous difficulties and foods are not easily transported. However, there are ways the government can take to improve the sustainability of food for all.

In the past, the majority of people were farmers, both local and commercial farming was popular, but now people are hardly going into farming and the small percentage of people who work as farmers now, are facing numerous difficulties that have hampered the quality and quantity of food that is being produced. These challenges range from a reduction in land mass required for farming due to overpopulation, also, our soil is losing a lot of nutrients from erosion as a result of deforestation and overgrazing as a result crops take longer than required to germinate.

Recently, there has been a heated debate on the reduction of air travel due to the amount of Co2 emission generated by airplanes. Whereas, food can only get to other areas when there is a fast and convenient mode of transportation especially when they are coming from far regions where other modes of transportation cannot reach. As result, the amount of food that is supposed to be delivered to certain areas will be reduced due to restrictions on air travel.

Nevertheless, there are numerous ways in which the world powers can improve the availability of food. They should ensure proper accessibility for foods by making an exception for some certain foods to be moved via planes. They should assist local and commercial farmers by providing reasonable loan packages and allocating land space for farming. In addition, farmers should be educated about ways to prevent erosion, manufacturing of fertilizers to help their crops grow well, as well as promoting proper farming practices among farmers. Also, genetic engineering of food is a controversial approach that can also improve the availability of food, if plant scientist can successfully speed up the growth and increase the size of crops as well as making them more nutritious, then it can be guaranteed that food will be surplus.

In conclusion, the cap on air travel and the challenges faced by the few farmers we have has led to the scarcity of food but, the governments can ease these burden on farmers and promote research in food cloning and manipulation of crops which will go a long way in preventing famine.