Most people believe that stricter punishments should be given for traffic offenses.

To what extent do you agree?

Some people are of the opinion that people who commit traffic offenses ought to be given harsher penalties. Personally, I disagree with this stand point due to a variety of reasons. The following paragraphs shall outline the main reasons why penalties should not be greater.

One of the main reasons drivers should not be punished more strictly is because it is unfair and the punishments can severely restrict a persons lifestyle. Even in developed countries it is virtually impossible to catch all motorists who infringe on the law. Therefore, it is quite random who gets charged for committing an offense. Once a person is charged, even for minor incidents, it can increase their insurance premium and if they are caught too many times they can be banned from driving and possibly lose their job. For instance, one commuter may drive through a street with speed cameras on everyday, whereas another commuter has no speed cameras on their route to work. The first motorist may get caught the one time a year they are speeding to work, where as the other commuter who speeds every day never gets charged.

A further reason not to charge offenders more heavily is that some of the restrictions placed on motorists are unreasonable. You can be charged for parking in a space a few minutes too long even when there are no other parking spaces available, driving slightly faster than the speed limit even on roads designed for speed, or even not wearing a seat belt which is surely a person own choice. None of these offenses are particularly dangerous and decrease the freedom of a nations populace.

In conclusion, unfair awarding of penalties and the limited value of some of the related traffic laws means I remain firmly against increasing the harshness of traffic penalties. Governments should take the above arguments into account for future planning purposes.