Some people say that the current level of air travel is acceptable where as other people believe air travel should be reduced and the government should play a role in this.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Certain groups of people believe that the current levels of air travel are too high and governments should act to lower it. Other people are of the opinion that the present level is fine. Personally, I am of the opinion that it should be reduced significantly and the government should aid this process. The following paragraphs shall outline the reasons why I believe this to be the correct view point.

Firstly, many countries already suffer from poor air quality which airplanes only worsen. For each flight that takes place more and more carbon dioxide is pumped into the atmosphere which then enhances the breakdown of the ozone layer. We are already seeing that many cities, particularly those in China, are suffering from constant thick smog which sits over many of the cities there. As it is a governments duty to monitor and improve the overall health of their nation they should certainly be proactive in reducing this risk factor.

Allied to the above, tourists are not always beneficial to the host country. For example, in Bali tourists have been destroying the beautiful beaches with their constant litter pollution and degrading the local culture through their appetite for drinking alcohol to excess and behaving in an anti-social manner. Restricting the level of air travel would hopefully lead to the preservation and enhanced value of local traditions and culture. However, they may need help from the government in establishing other income streams so they can maintain their standard of living.

Overall, maintaining safe levels of air quality and a nation’s tradition and cultures are more important than the needs of tourists. Governments should therefore implement a plan of action to ensure that both of these are protected for the benefit of future generations.