Most people believe that stricter punishments should be given for traffic offenses.

To what extent do you agree?

It is popularly believed that when people are penalized heavily for traffic offenses our roads will become safer. In my opinion, it is important to give stricter punishment to traffic offenders to ensure the safety of our roads and to reduce traffic congestion.

To begin, when people are penalized fully for the crimes they commit on the road, they become more attentive when driving and are likely to obey traffic rules and regulations. People often flout the laws that govern our road because some of the punishments given are not severe enough. Sometimes, people especially young people, disobey the rules and regulations on the road to satisfy their own desire at the expense of other people’s safety. Hence, having severe punishment for traffic offenders will increase people’s safety on the road and consequently reducing the rate of accidents. For instance, three years ago, a new policy was adopted in Ghana which ensures that people who caught driving under the influence of any substance like Alcohol, cannabis, cocaine and the likes, will be sentenced to a minimum of twenty years in imprisonment, this as subsequently decreased accidents on the streets of Ghana.

Secondly, another reason why harder punishment should be instituted in the laws for traffic offenders is that our roads will be less congested, If anyone is caught on the wrong side of the law, they should have their license seized for a number of years. This means we will continue to have a lesser number of vehicles on our roads. As a result, reducing the heavy congestion we experience especially for those of us living in metropolitan cities. Ind addition, a reduction in traffic congestion as a direct effect of stricter punishment will lead to less Co2 emissions. Thus, reducing the negative impact of excessive Co2 released into our environment. To exemplify this, North Korea implemented a law that allows road safety officials to ban a traffic offender or suspend their driving license. This has caused fewer cars to be seen on the road in North Korea.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that harsher traffic laws and punishments will keep our street safe as well as reduce traffic congestion.