Nowadays culture is much the same all around the world when compared to previous times. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

These days, people’s way of life is becoming similar all over the world as opposed to the past. In my opinion, the similarity of culture all around the world is a negative development.

First of all, one of the main drawbacks of this development is that people no longer care about their Heritage. In the past, our heritage defined us and gave us our rich culture. This has lead to people respecting each other’s views and custom. But now, even with the level of globalization, we are still more divided than the olden days. When people lose their culture, then they have lost the values that unify them and as a result, are likely going to be conflicted and divide. Also, people become less tolerant towards others and lack respect for other people’s culture. To exemplify this, two major tribes of the Yoruba land, Modakeke, and Ife tribe fought for years because of the lack of respect for each others culture, one believed she was superior to the other and likewise the other. Rather than accepting their differences, they fought for 10 years before they realized the importance of this. So, contrary to popular opinion that similarity in culture brings people together, it actually tears them apart.

Secondly, tourism has been on the low recently because of the lack of interest in other peoples custom. In the past, tourism has generated a lot of income in several countries. By having a large number of people coming to experience these cultures has resulted in the creation of more job opportunities in restaurants, hotels, museums, art galleries and historical places and consequently, boosting the economic growth of a country. Nowadays, people hardly care about learning new cultures since there is nothing more to be learned. Another added advantage of tourism is that it allows people to be tolerant towards one another, it removes bias and skepticism. When people come to new places and get accustomed to new ways of life, it creates a more friendly environment and erases pre-formed thought people have about others. To exemplify this, the Japanese have managed to preserve their unique culture, which generates a large amount of revenue through tourism yearly.

To sum up. I would like to reiterate that having similar custom all around the world is not a good development because it has resulted in more conflict, divide and poor tourism culture amongst people as well as a loss of a sense of belonging.