According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concern about the effect this is having on social interaction

It is of some individuals opinion that rather than viewing the Internet as a way of creating new means of communication globally, its impact on how people interact socially should be of great concern giving a recent study which revealed that people tend to have less interpersonal relationships when they spend more time on the Internet.In my opinion, overuse of the Internet is a major cause of concern as it has led to poor virtual communication with people around. But, a balance can be reach to prevent it's negative impact.

To begin, one of the major benefit of the Internet is the accessibility to people wherever they are. This means people can easily pass messages across to others in a fast and convenient way. Also, the Internet help to connect people regardless of where they live. This means families are well connected that before. For example, I am able to get in touch with my sibling living in the UK by just a click away using a social media platform. They get my message instantly and sometime I can use a video call to actually see them. As a result, Family ties are kept strong and people are well connected.

Although, the ability of the Internet to keep people connected is like a double edge sword. This means when people over indulge in it, they become withdrawn and are less likely to form meaningful human interaction. This is true especially for children, who at a tender age begin to use the Internet. For instance, a recent study showed that children who spend over 4 hours a day on the web are likely to develop one or more mental health problems. Consequently, people tend to be less sensitive and suffer from more mental issues.

To sum up, communication using the Internet has been amazingly useful to humans. However, a balance should be maintained to keep a healthy social life.