In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In industrialized countries; people can expect to live for a longer time than ever before. This essay will first suggest that the foremost problems caused by this phenomenon are tax incidence and burden on youngsters with old relatives and then submit increasing retirement age and investing more in the health care system for elderlies as viable solutions.

An ageing population is metamorphosing into a social nightmare because this leads to a greater tax burden. The culprit for this is that people of retirement age in the developed nations do not need to pay tax and many of them eligible to receive a pension. The authority, therefore, would receive less tax in relation to the size of the population and this may, in effect increase the burden on taxpayers. The Times recently reported that each retirement person in Japan could expect to receive up to 5000 dollars a year. An inevitable truth dictates that this social evil is a real an imminent menace to a vast majority because this makes commuters with old relatives feel the pressure. This hindrance has evolved from the incapability to adapt to a rise in demand for health care for old people and hence, youngsters would have to look after their old relatives on top of office work. According to the PEW Center, Korean nursing rooms can only take care of 45% of elderlies in this country.

It requires no tedious analysis to reminisce that to rectify this dilemma, the retirement age of working adults should be increased from 65 to 70. The rationale behind this is that many people of this age still capable of working effectively, thereby the government will receive a comparable amount of tax with the population. A classic case of which is America new policy that allows people to work until 70. Besides that, it is incumbent upon the government to invest more money on health care system for this group of people. Thus, reducing the burden on youngsters who have to take care of their old relatives. As mirrored by The Netherland decision to spend more money on this field and received praise from their citizens.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can now safely stated that an ageing population results in tax incidence and the time loss of youngsters, but this can be tackled by expanding retirement age and by improving the healthcare system for old people. It is predicted that more and more industrialized countries will be forced to take such measures to curtail this phenomenon.