Some say that because many people are living much longer than, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

According to a recent study by Cambridge University, average life expectancy of people increased to 20 years longer. Some claim that pension age should be raised because many people are living much longer than ever before. In my personal opinion, I completely agree with the former assertion. This essay will first demonstrate that raising retirement age will reduce the tax burden, then followed by an analysis of how this is beneficial to the economy.

There is an argument of the justification, which can demonstrate the statement to wit; this can reduce the tax burden on the authority and taxpayers. This borne by the fact that nowadays, it is extremely expensive for the government to support this group of people because the pension was designed to maintain people for a much shorter time. The hardship, therefore, not only falls on the authority because they will receive less tax in relation to the size of the population, but also taxpayers from business of all sizes to young commuters, who end up working harder to pay for the extended retirement of the old. The Times recently reported that each retirement person in Japan could receive up to 5000 dollars.

Apart from the practical concern expressed above, it is also conceded that claim is rich in merit because from an economic prospective, allowing people to work longer is extremely beneficial. The rationale behind this is that many 65 and 70 employees are healthy enough to continue a productive working life and the experience they have is needed to many companies. Thus, the longer they can work, the more they can devote to their fields and promoting the value of hard working attitude among young commuters. According to the PEW Center, 65% of pension workers claimed that they are not ready to retire and believe that this is actually their prime time.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can now be safely stated that the age to retire should be increased to adapt to the life expectancy of people in the contemporary word and that this could reduce tax burden and boost the economy.