Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Excusing criminals is an issue that frequently generates a heated debate with supporters remaining that it is vital to punish violent criminals, whilst opponents claim that it is unacceptable in current society. There are both liabilities and utilities to this as will be explained. This essay will argue that capital punishment is essential and that it helps to keep security efficient in the society. This essay will highlight criminal deterrence as the biggest advantage of this, followed by an analysis of how sometimes it encourages revenge.

Carefully scrutiny of the subject reveals that it is possessed with unmistakable merit and the primary of which is capital punishment could stop people from committing major crimes. The rationale behind this is that the fear of death might deter dangerous criminals and hence, would make the public feel protected as this shows that crime is not tolerated. A recent survey by Cambridge University found that the crime rates in countries that allow capital punishment are noticeable lower than other nations who do not.

It is an inevitable realization that the disadvantage is not exclusive of the foregoing but also extends to promoting revenge among people. A logical justification for this is parents believe that children could be easily influenced by this and treat people that they do not like badly. As mirrored by Britain, a country that had abolished the death penalty since 1918.

Overall, capital punishment brings very positive elements to the safety society because most people feel that they are protected when they are fully aware that crime is not tolerated in their countries rather than considering it as a contributing factor to a violent culture. According to the PEW Center, 67% of Vietnamese people agreed that the death penalty is necessary.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can be safely stated that the effect of the death penalty in tackling crimes is clear and although some might see it as a reason that makes society increasingly violent, it is a very positive step to maintain the well-being of current society.