In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

According to a recent study by Cambridge University, the average life expectancy of people increased to 20 years longer. Some claim that pension age should be raised considerably because many people are living much longer than ever before. In my personal opinion, I completely agree with the former assertion. This essay will first demonstrate that raising the retirement age will reduce the tax burden, and then followed by an analysis of how this is beneficial to the economy.

There is an argument of the justification, which can demonstrate the statement to wit; this can reduce the tax burden on the authority and taxpayers. This borne by the fact that nowadays, it is extremely expensive for the government to support this group of people because the pension was designed to maintain people for a much shorter time. The hardship, therefore, falls on taxpayers from the business of all sizes to young commuters, who end up working harder to pay for the extended retirement of the old. The Times recently reported that each retirement person in Japan could receive up to 5000 dollars.

Apart from the practical concern expressed above, it is also conceded that claim is rich in merit because from an economic perspective, allowing people to work longer is extremely beneficial. The rationale behind this is that many 65 and 70 employees are healthy enough to continue a productive working life and the experience they have is needed for many companies. Thus, the longer they can work, the more they can devote to the national economy and this may, in effect, promote the value of hard-working attitude among young commuters. According to the PEW Center, 65% of pension workers claimed that they are not ready to retire and believe that this is their prime time.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can now be safely stated that the age to retire should be increased to adapt to the life expectancy of people in the contemporary world and that this could reduce the tax burden and boost the economy.