Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is agonizing reality that a variety of technology breakthroughs have adverse impact on the environment. A number of people argue that a simpler lifestyle will protect the nature, meanwhile others opine that human being can make use of science and technology to address current environmental problems. From my own perspective, I think that both notions are effectual, however the latter is of higher efficacy.

On the one hand, it is sufficiently apparent that via simplifying daily activities, the amount of individual’s carbon footprint will be significantly reduced, thus cutting down on exhausting gases emission. To illustrate, simplified life can be defined as a way of life that emphasize on the quality of life and shifts towards natural lifestyle rather than extravagant or vanity possessions. Therefore, it stands to reason that leading a simple life can be interpreted into living environmentally friendly. For example, we can substitute driving to work for cycling or walking, or purchasing locally cultivated product instead of imported counterparts.

On the other hand, despite acknowledged negative effect on the environment, it is irrefutable that with the help of technology and science, humankind have made tremendous progress in tackling our self-made issues. For instances, the energy crisis plaguing the world recent day is undoubtfully the direct consequence of reckless and indiscriminate exploitation. Fortunately, such advances in technology as space-based solar panels or wind farm are capable of adequately supplying power without leading to hazardous repercussion. Furthermore, drawing an analogy between two proposed solutions, the latter is proven to be more efficacious as it can applied to larger scale and have greater profound results. The former, on the contrary, is appropriate to medium-scaled as it largely depends on the awareness of each individual.

In conclusion, notwithstanding advantages of simpler lifestyle to the nature, I optimistically believe science and technology can solve environmental problems.